PCS Elects FEU-NRMF Alumnus its President

Melchor F. Santos, M.D.The Fellows of the Philippine College of Surgeons on December 4, 2007 elected its vice-president, Rey Melchor F. Santos, M.D., as its next president for 2007, during the PCS 62nd Annual Clinical Congress held at Edsa Shangri-La Hotel in Mandaluyong, Manila, December 3-6, 2007. He succeeded Eduardo R. Gatchalian, M.D. There were 2,045 registrants at this Congress, 73 of them new inductees to the College.

Dr. Santos, FEU-NRMF Class ’80 (Cum Laude), graduated Most Outstanding, a Winthrop-Stearns Scholar. He is now Associate Professor in Surgery at FEU-NRMF Institute of Medicine in West Fairview, Quezon City.

The new PCS head practices General Surgery and is the president of the Philippine Society of Laparoscopic and Endoscopic Surgeons. Dr. Santos is also currently the vice- president of the Philippine Medical Association. He was a Gold Medalist at Ateneo Graduate School, where he finished his Master in Hospital Administration in 1994. His extensive and most impressive resume includes dozens of other membership and leadership positions in various medical, civic, religious, government, and international associations. He has a long list of honors and awards to his name.

The other new officers include: Armand C. Crisostomo, M.D., vice-president; Alex A. Erasmo, M.D., treasurer; Josefina R. Almonte, M.D., was appointed secretary; and, Isaac David E. Ampil II, M.D., Alfred H. Belmonte, M.D., Alex E. L. Cerrillo, M.D., Dominador M. Chiong, Jr., M.D., Jose Y. Cueto, M.D., Esperanza R. Lahoz, M.D., Ray B. Malilay, M.D., Gabriel L. Martinez, M.D., Arturo E. Mendoza, Jr., M.D., Antonio S. Say, M.D., and Jesus V. Valencia, M.D., Board of Regents.



Copyright 1998 Philip S. Chua, M.D. 
All Rights Reserved